Muni Reliability Working Group

The Muni Reliability Working Group is sponsored by Mayor London Breed, Supervisor Aaron Peskin, and Supervisor Rafael Mandelman.  The purpose of the group is to:

  • Review Muni transit operations performance and improvement work
  • Reach a shared understanding of where Muni needs support
  • Recommend priority actions to improve Muni performance for the use of policymakers and a new San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency (SFMTA) Director over the next 18-24 months

The Working Group will meet between July-December 2019.  

Group members were appointed by the sponsors and include individuals currently or previously at the following organizations:

  • Kathleen Kelly, AC Transit, SFMTA (formerly)
  • Mike Hursh, AC Transit
  • James Gallagher, LA Metro
  • Beverly Scott, Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (formerly)
  • Queena Chen, Chinatown Transportation Research and Improvement Project
  • Alicia John-Baptiste, SPUR
  • Cat Carter, San Francisco Transit Riders
  • Gwyneth Borden, SFMTA Commission
  • Roger Marenco, TWU Local 250A
  • Terrence Hall, TWU Local 250A
  • Ed Harrington, San Francisco Controller’ Office (formerly), San Francisco Public Utilities Commission (formerly)

The following agencies/departments will provide support to the Working Group:

  • San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency
  • San Francisco Controller’ Office
  • San Francisco Department of Human Resources
  • San Francisco City Attorney’s Office
  • San Francisco County Transportation Authority

The Muni Reliability Working Group is a passive meeting body.  Member of the public are welcome to observe. Meeting agendas and materials will be posted below as they become available.  To request meeting notifications, please contact


Link to Working Group Meeting Agendas and Materials

SFMTA Information Files and Links
SFMTA Public Comments
Calendar of Meetings and Subcommittee Meetings