MINUTES Citizens' General Obligation Bond Oversight Committee – Special Meeting July 8, 2010 Room 316 - City Hall San Francisco, CA 94102

1) Call to Order, Roll Call

Ms. Maura Lane, Committee Assistant, called the meeting to order at 9:51 a.m. at which time there was a quorum. The following Committee members were present: Abraham Simmons (Chair), Robert Muscat, Egon Terplan, Rebecca Rhine and Thea Selby. The following members were absent: Sanford Garfinkel, Richard Morten and Michelle Sexton.

2) Approval of the Minutes of the meeting of April 22, 2010.

The minutes were approved. There was no public comment.

3) Discussion of the creation of special and/or standing subcommittees

Abraham Simmons, Chair, presented information in regard to the need for special and/or standing subcommittees to help the Committee facilitate the audit review function, the standardization of reports from the various departments providing information to the Committee, and the review of Whistleblower complaints.

Ken Roux, of the City Attorney's Office, clarified the similarities and differences between special and standing subcommittees per the Committee's by-laws and the City Charter.

After extensive discussion, Egon Terplan, Committee Member, made a motion to create a standing subcommittee for Audit Review that would be comprised of three committee members: Rebecca Rhine, Thea Selby and Abraham Simmons. This standing committee would be expected to meet two times annually and focus on the following areas: 1) Annual Audit Review (to review the overall scope, provide strategic direction and the selection of targets); 2) Facilitate hearings before the full Committee on specific audits; 3) the review of benchmarks; and 4) Develop best practices (to include a comparative review and performance measurements). Other topics may also be included. Mr. Muscat seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

Ben Rosenfield, Controller, agreed to look into the standardization of reports. Thea Shelby agreed to be the liaison, if needed. Abraham Simmons agreed to be the liaison for the Whistleblower Program. Egon Terplan has been the Whistleblower liaison for the past year.

4) Discussion Item:

Opportunity for the public to comment on any matters within the Committee's jurisdiction.

Mr. Tim Flynn, a member of the public, expressed his opinion that the discussion at the meeting was very interesting.

The meeting adjourned at 11:15 p.m.